The North Star Digital Literacy Assessment includes the following nine modules:

  1. Basic Computer
  2. World Wide Web
  3. Windows or MAC OSX
  4. Using Email
  5. Microsoft Word
  6. Social Media
  7. Microsoft Excel
  8. Microsoft PowerPoint
  9. Information Literacy

The Information Literacy module is the newest module and was developed to use real world examples that ask you to “use technology to gather information in order to solve a problem.”

SABES no longer has a subscription to the North Star Digital Literacy Assessment but the free site has always been available for you to use. Your ABE program can become subscribers, too. If you want to be able to provide your students with certificates, you should consider subscribing. Without subscribing you’re still able to provide students with digital badges when they complete the assessment with a score of 80% or greater.  

Topic Area: 
Digital Literacy
Distance Learning
Technology Support
Media Type: 
Resource Type: 
PD Center: 
Digital Literacy