The Developing Core Proficiencies Curriculum is an integrated set of English Language Arts/Literacy units spanning grades 6-12. Funded by the USNY Regents Research Fund, the free curriculum is comprised of a series of four units at each grade level that provide direct instruction on a set of literacy proficiencies at the heart of the Common Core State Standards. Each unit highlights a core literacy proficiency and provides approaches, instructional sequences, handouts, tools and texts for developing independent mastery and creative critical thinking in students.


Unit 1: Reading Closely for Textual Details

Unit 2: Making Evidence-Based Claims

Unit 3: Researching to Deepen Understanding

Unit 4: Building Evidence-Based Arguments

Each is available at several grade levels.

NOTE: This was developed for K-12 and the Common Core State Standards; it would need to be adapted for use by ABE and the College and Career Readiness Standards for Adult Education.

Topic Area
Media Type
Resource Type
PD Center
SABES English Language Arts Curriculum & Instruction PD Team